TeamViewer Commercial Use Suspected Fix 2018 – What can I do?

Published by Alvin Nyau - Updated on

So, you’ve been using the TeamViewer free version all along just fine. All of a sudden during a TeamViewer session, it shows “TeamViewer Commercial use detected, your session will be terminated after 5 minutes” regardless of the OS, be it Windows 10, Mac OS X or Linux Ubuntu. Here’s a few things you need to know about the TeamViewer commercial use suspected fix and what you can do about it.

After receiving the TeamViewer commercial use suspected message, you may also start seeing a countdown for a trial period which will expire later. This is due to your TeamViewer has switched itself to the commercial version. When it expires, you will have to purchase the license in order to continue using it. Here’s what you can do.

TeamViewer commercial use suspected

Why do I see TeamViewer commercial use suspected?

Generally, TeamViewer has 2 versions – one for personal and non-commercial usage which is free, and another for business and commercial usage which requires a subscription. So, if you’ve been using TeamViewer free version and suddenly you receive the TeamViewer commercial use suspected error, it indicates TeamViewer has somehow detected activity at your end that may considered a commercial use.

Here’s a few things that may trigger the TeamViewer commercial use suspected message when you use TeamViewer.

  • If you are using TeamViewer to connect to your client’s or customer’s devices, it implies commercial use.
  • If you are using TeamViewer for home office, connecting to your work computer, to check your emails or other actions, it indicates commercial use.
  • If you let your customers connect to your device, it is also considered a commercial environment.
  • If you use TeamViewer to monitor devices running a server operating system such as Windows Server, it will obviously imply commercial uses.
  • Or other actions which TeamViewer may suspect to be for commercial purposes.

According to some users, if you are connecting to too many different devices from too many different places around the world, it may trigger the TeamViewer commercial use suspected message as it looks very much like you are doing it for commercial purposes.

So, what is personal and non-commercial use?

According to TeamViewer, personal use means that you are only trying to help your family or friend through remotely connecting to their devices that are not running any server-alike operating systems, and are not being used in any kind of commercial environment.

What can I do to fix TeamViewer commercial use suspected?

If you are using TeamViewer only for personal and non-commercial use, you can try to do a complete uninstall and reinstall of the TeamViewer free version on your computer.

You can refer to this guide – TeamViewer trial version expired fix, to learn how to do a full reinstall of TeamViewer free version.

TeamViewer commercial use suspected fix Windows 10 Mac OS X Ubuntu Linux

If the reinstall doesn’t work and you believe that the TeamViewer commercial use suspected was a mistake and that you are using TeamViewer for personal use only, you can try to use this form to create a ticket to request TeamViewer to unblock your device. Be sure to provide your correct TeamViewer device ID.

TeamViewer commercial use suspected Fix

It may take some time for TeamViewer to come out with a decision for your request, whether to unblock your device or continue flagging it as commercial use. If you are really using it commercially, please buy a license.

Description for sharing: Seeing TeamViewer commercial use suspected? Here's what you need to know and how to fix it if you are only using TeamViewer for personal use.